Information on:

Daniel Boone National Forest

Daniel Boone National Forest
1700 Bypass Road

About the Forest:

The Daniel Boone National Forest features four ranger districts: Cumberland, London, Stearns and Redbird. The district ranger and his or her staff is your first point of contact with the Forest Service. They are your best source of specific information about trails and campgrounds. All office addresses and phone numbers can be found on the Offices page.

These areas are intermingled with private and state land across 21 counties of eastern Kentucky. The forest headquarters, referred to as the Supervisor's Office, is located in Winchester, Kentucky.

In February 1937 a national forest for Kentucky was officially established under a proclamation signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Originally named the Cumberland National Forest, the forest was renamed in 1966 as the Daniel Boone National Forest in recognition of the adventurous frontiersman that explored much of this Kentucky region.

The Daniel Boone National Forest is among 155 national forests, 20 national grasslands and other public land utilizations totaling 193 million acres in 44 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. The national forest system is managed by the Forest Service under the jurisdiction of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). The Forest Service was established in 1905 for the conservation management of natural resources and to provide our nation with a sustained yield of forest products for future use.

Daniel Boone National Forest is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media